Along with Smriti Mandhana, Harmanpreet Kaur, the Indian T20 captain, will lead in the Women's T20 Challenge. © Getty Images

Along with Smriti Mandhana, Harmanpreet Kaur, the Indian T20 captain, will lead in the Women’s T20 Challenge. © Getty Images

The Board of Control for Cricket in India confirmed that the Women’s T20 Challenge match, featuring international players from both India and across the world, will be played ahead of the Qualifier 1 match of the 2018 Indian Premier League at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on May 22.

Smriti Mandhana and Harmanpreet Kaur, India Women’s T20 captain, will lead the two teams, to be called the IPL XI and the BCCI XI. The encounter is set to be televised throughout India and across the world.

According to Rajeev Shukla, the IPL Chairman, the international roster is also set to include the likes of New Zealand’s Suzie Bates and Sophie Devine, England’s Danni Wyatt and Danielle Hazell and Australia’s Megan Schutt, Alyssa Healy, Beth Mooney and Ellyse Perry, who have all confirmed their participation for the one-off T20 outing. There will be a total of 10 international players and 20 Indian players for both teams to choose from for this match.

Diana Edulji, a former cricketer herself and a member of the Committee of Administrators (CoA) claimed the exhibition match was ‘a small but significant step towards a women’s league’ and serve as a possible dry-run for a proposed women’s league on par with the IPL.

“Mithali Raj, Jhulan Goswami, Harmanpreet Kaur, Smriti Mandhana and Veda Krishanmurthy among others rubbing shoulders with foreign stars will be a unique experience and something that we have not witnessed here in India,” she said.

With the Qualifier 1 scheduled to start at 7pm IST, the Women’s T20 Challenge match is scheduled to start at 2pm IST.